Wishlist Wednesday: The Memory of Lost Senses, Judith Kinghorn

Wishlist Wednesday is a weeklies hosted by Pen to Paper. As I have enough wishes when it comes to books I decided to join this weekly and tell you about them. I am obviously curious about the books on your wishlist too so feel free to leave a message.

The Memory of Lost Senses Judith Kinghorn cover
When a mysterious countess arrives late in life to live at a large, deserted house on the edge of a sleepy Hampshire village, the local tongues start wagging. No one is more intrigued than Cecily Chadwick, idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 with nothing much to do. Cecily is fascinated by the exotic elderly lady and, as she gets to know her, is riveted by her tales of expatriate life on the continent, and of whom she once knew. But the countess is troubled: by her memories, her name, and by anonymous threats to reveal a ruinous secret... It is, she has decided, up to her close friend, a successful novelist who has come to stay for the summer, to put the record straight. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue and pull of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, his unanswered questions about his grandmother's past and his desire to know the truth, that draw Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's life, and the place known as Temple Hill.

This book obviously first caught my eye due to that lovely cover.  I went on the look for more information and found that this book is said to be a must read for fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton. This pretty much arranged a guaranteed spot on my I want to read this book list!
Previous
Next Post »

3 reacties

Write reacties
22 May, 2013 delete

Another interesting pick I never saw before. Looks and sounds really interesting.

My WW

Reply
avatar
22 May, 2013 delete

I do love that cover! It really sounds fascinating -- as a Downton Abbey fan, I feel that I must check this out!

Lisa
My WW

Reply
avatar
Angie F
AUTHOR
23 May, 2013 delete

I hadn't heard of this one, but I hope you get it soon and enjoy!

Here's Mine @ Pinkindle Reads & Reviews

Reply
avatar